What’s the difference between Balsamic Vinegar Of Modena and Tradizionale Balsamic Vinegar Of Modena?
Both exceptional, the differences between the two products are subtle but important.
Tradizionale Balsamic Vinegar of Modena PDO — or Aceto Balsamico Tradizionale di Modena DOP — is a syrupy and thick product, crafted according to a century’s old recipe and aged for at least 12 years, made using only cooked grape must. Every aspect of its production is intrinsically linked to Modena, and for that reason it holds prestigious PDO status. You can read more about how we make it here.
Balsamic Vinegar of Modena PGI — otherwise known as Aceto Balsamico di Modena IGP — is a newer, shorter-aged vinegar made from a blend of two ingredients, red wine vinegar and grape must. It’s less rare and generally less expensive than its older sibling, but it still holds the special Protected Geographic Indication PGI status and it’s production is
governed by strict rules and a certification process to guarantee authenticity. You can read more about how we make it here.
How many calories does balsamic vinegar have?
This is a very good question, and the answer is… it depends.
Every product is the result of a special blend amongst red wine vinegar and grape must, which could be cooked, concentrated or a blend of the two. For this reason, you can find on the back label the number of calories specific for that product.
As a general rule, the more grape must in the blend the higher the natural sugar content and calorie count will be… but we also find that these blends are used more sparingly that the more tangy ‘everyday’ blends that have more wine vinegar so there is a balancing effect.
Is Balsamic Vinegar of Modena good for you?
Historically, Balsamic Vinegar has been perceived as a product with positive health benefits. And while there’s no scientific findings to support that belief, grape must is rich in antioxidant polyphenols, and vinegars are widely-accepted as being part of a healthy diet.
Does Balsamic Vinegar of Modena go bad?
Although we’re legally obliged to put an expiry date on our bottles in many countries, generally speaking Balsamic Vinegar of Modena doesn’t go bad.
However, it’s important to store your vinegar properly — in a cool, dry place out of direct sunlight — to keep the product in the best condition over time.
Are your products suitable for vegans and vegetarians?
Yes, our products are suitable for both vegans and vegetarians.
Do your products contain alcohol?
Balsamic Vinegar of Modena has an alcohol content always below 1.5% ml/100 ml according to Reg. EU 583/09 on Production of Balsamic vinegar of Modena PGI. The Alcohol content is only due to the natural fermentation process and not added in any phase of the production process of Balsamic Vinegar of Modena
Are your products certified Kosher?
We do offer some Kosher Balsamic Vinegar of Modena varieties — but we always recommend checking the label to see whether or not the product is Kosher.
Are your products gluten free?
Yes, all our products are gluten free.
Do your products contain any allergens?
Our products may contain Sulfites, and we always recommend checking the list of ingredients on the back label of each bottle — if you’re still not sure or you have a question for us about the ingredients we use, please contact us.
Where can I buy Mazzetti?
Mazzetti is available in Sainsbury's, Waitrose, Ocado and online on amazon.co.uk
You will also find it in smaller independent retailers around the country.
What is PGI and PDO?
PGI (Protected Geographic Indication) and PDO (Protected Designation of Origin) are two European certifications granted to products after a very stringent application process.
In both cases, products have to show that their special characteristics are derived from the place where they’re made.
PDO products must be made entirely within a protected geographical area, and derive their inimitable characteristics to the natural and human factors that exist there — for PGI products, only the protected part of the making process has to take place in the designated area.
You can read more about the PGI certification here and more about the PDO certification here.
How can I tell if a product has been aged?
Aging is an important part of any authentic Balsamic Vinegar of Modena — and if the producer is a member of the Consortium you can tell how long a bottle has been aged by the colour of the seal on its neck.
If the seal is burgundy, it means the Consortium of Balsamic Vinegar of Modena has certified the product has been matured in wooden vats or barrels for more than 60 days. If it’s a gold seal, it means the product is certified as having been aged for more than 3 years.
How old is Mazzetti?
Cesare, our founder and president, recently turned 60 — so he’s now more aged for longer than 2 bottles of Tradizionale extravecchio. But the real story of Mazzetti begins even earlier...
Why can authentic Balsamic Vinegar only be made in Modena?
Our products get their unique characteristics from the fact that they’re made in the Modena area - and for this reason they’re all protected and certified with either PGI or PDO status.
I’m not satisfied with a product — what can I do?
Every Mazzetti bottle should be exceptional and completely fit for its purpose — if yours isn’t, please contact us right away
Where can I find recipe ideas?
You’ll find a great range of recipe ideas in our Recipe Book and we will post new ones on a regular basis — we would love you to share your creations with us on social media once you’ve made something delicious. For more inspiration in the kitchen using our products and to get some ideas have a go with our pairing guide
Do you add sugar to your products?
No, our products don't have any added sugar — the quantity you’ll find listed on the label refers to the naturally-occurring sugars found in the grapes we use for the creation of the grape must, one of the key ingredients of our products.
Will I find caramel in your products?
No, we’ve produced a range of products that feature no caramel — but each product is different and as producers, we’re legally permitted to include caramel in our blends, so it’s always best to check the ingredients list on the bottle.
Do you have Organic products in your range?
Yes, we do — if you would like to see more please see here.
Can I use your products for cosmetic purposes?
No, all our products are for food consumption only.
It is possible that you might have read suggestions for cosmetic treatments using vinegar but we recommend splashing or drizzling on your favourite dishes and avoiding any non-food related activities.